Changing Planet

A New Kind of Olympic Trial: Hydrogen Fuel Cell Taxis

With the 2012 Olympic Games rapidly approaching, viewers around the world have been riveted to their televisions watching athletes qualify for the Games via the Olympic trials. We at C40 are noting a different kind of trial taking place during the Games – just last week, the HyTEC (Hydrogen Transport for European Cities) project handed London keys to five hydrogen fuel cell electric taxis for use during the Olympic Games.

This industry-led project brings together the experience and knowledge of 16 companies at the forefront of hydrogen technology and infrastructure in an effort to understand the best methods for rolling out hydrogen transport in European cities.

The five London taxis will provide a zero-emissions mode of transport for visiting dignitaries throughout the Olympic Games. Moreover, a new Air Products fueling station will connect up with the station already supporting London’s existing hydrogen bus fleet.

A member of the C40 Electric Vehicle Network, London has set a goal of having 100,000 electric vehicles on the road as soon as possible. For more information on London’s local efforts, read our earlier coverage here; and to learn more about the HyTEC initiative, check out this article at FuelCellToday.

The C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) is a network of large and engaged cities from around the world committed to implementing meaningful and sustainable climate-related actions locally that will help address climate change globally. Recognizing that cities consume over two-thirds of the world’s energy and account for more than 70% of global CO2 emissions, our organization’s global field staff works with city governments, supported by our technical experts across a range of program areas to reduce carbon emissions and increase energy efficiency in large cities across the world. The current chair of the C40 is Rio de Janeiro Mayor Eduardo Paes, and 108th Mayor of New York City Michael R. Bloomberg is President of the Board. The Steering Committee includes: Berlin, Buenos Aires, Copenhagen, Hong Kong, Houston, Jakarta, Johannesburg, London, Los Angeles, Rio de Janeiro, Seoul and Tokyo.

About the Blog

Researchers, conservationists, and others share stories, insights and ideas about Our Changing Planet, Wildlife & Wild Spaces, and The Human Journey. More than 50,000 comments have been added to 10,000 posts. Explore the list alongside to dive deeper into some of the most popular categories of the National Geographic Society’s conversation platform Voices.

Opinions are those of the blogger and/or the blogger’s organization, and not necessarily those of the National Geographic Society. Posters of blogs and comments are required to observe National Geographic’s community rules and other terms of service.

Voices director: David Braun (

Social Media