Johannesburg to host 2014 Mayors Summit

C40 Chair and New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg announced today that the City of Johannesburg will host the fifth biennial C40 Mayors Summit, an event which gathers mayors from the world’s largest cities for three days to advance urban solutions to the climate crisis, on February 4-6, 2014.

Mayor Bloomberg and Johannesburg Mayor Mpho Parks Tau met in New York City today to announce the news.

“While nations and international bodies meet to talk about these issues, the C40 Cities Mayors Summit is focused on the concrete actions we can take to protect the planet and grow our cities,” said Mayor Bloomberg.

Mayor Tau said that hosting the event is “a historic moment for Johannesburg,” and “a clear recognition of the growing role that Africa, and the global South, can play to find solutions to the most pressing issues facing our globe.”

Hundreds of urban and climate change leaders from around the world will join mayors in a series of roundtable discussions and working sessions in Johannesburg. The 2011 summit in Sao Paolo, more than 30 mayors attended and many ground-breaking partnerships and research were announced.

To read the official press release please click here.

Changing Planet


Meet the Author
The C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) is a network of large and engaged cities from around the world committed to implementing meaningful and sustainable climate-related actions locally that will help address climate change globally. Recognizing that cities consume over two-thirds of the world’s energy and account for more than 70% of global CO2 emissions, our organization’s global field staff works with city governments, supported by our technical experts across a range of program areas to reduce carbon emissions and increase energy efficiency in large cities across the world. The current chair of the C40 is Rio de Janeiro Mayor Eduardo Paes, and 108th Mayor of New York City Michael R. Bloomberg is President of the Board. The Steering Committee includes: Berlin, Buenos Aires, Copenhagen, Hong Kong, Houston, Jakarta, Johannesburg, London, Los Angeles, Rio de Janeiro, Seoul and Tokyo.