29 Finalists Announced for C40 & Siemens City Climate Leadership Awards

Today, C40 and Siemens announced the 29 cities that have been nominated as finalists for the City Climate Leadership Awards. The finalist cities – which span five continents – have demonstrated leadership in climate solutions on a city scale, as identified by an independent panel of judges.

Finalist cities include:

Johannesburg, Lagos

Asia & Oceania
Bangkok, Ho Chi Minh City, Melbourne, Seoul, Shanghai, Singapore, Tokyo

Amsterdam, Barcelona, Berlin, Copenhagen, London, Munich, Oslo, Paris, Rotterdam, Stockholm

North America
Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, San Francisco

South America
Bogotá, Buenos Aires, Mexico City, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo

Of these 29 finalists, 10 winning cities will be announced at The Crystal – Siemens’ sustainability center located in London – on September 4, 2013. Winners will represent the strongest projects in each of ten categories, including:

  • Urban Transportation
  • Waste Management
  • Finance & Economic Development
  • Carbon Measurement & Planning
  • Sustainable Communities
  • Green Energy
  • Adaptation & Resilience
  • Energy Efficient Built Environment
  • Air Quality
  • Intelligent City Infrastructure

For the full release, click here.

Changing Planet


Meet the Author
The C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) is a network of large and engaged cities from around the world committed to implementing meaningful and sustainable climate-related actions locally that will help address climate change globally. Recognizing that cities consume over two-thirds of the world’s energy and account for more than 70% of global CO2 emissions, our organization’s global field staff works with city governments, supported by our technical experts across a range of program areas to reduce carbon emissions and increase energy efficiency in large cities across the world. The current chair of the C40 is Rio de Janeiro Mayor Eduardo Paes, and 108th Mayor of New York City Michael R. Bloomberg is President of the Board. The Steering Committee includes: Berlin, Buenos Aires, Copenhagen, Hong Kong, Houston, Jakarta, Johannesburg, London, Los Angeles, Rio de Janeiro, Seoul and Tokyo.