Mayor Paes: IPCC Report Highlights Need for ‘City Diplomacy’ to Spur Climate Action

Editor’s note: Rio Mayor Eduardo Paes is the current C40 Chair.

C40 welcomes further definitive evidence from the Inter-governmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) of the impact that humanity is having on climate change, and the potential consequences to our way of life.

The latest IPCC report, Climate Change 2014: Impacts, Adaptation, and Vulnerability, showed that many global risks of climate change are concentrated in urban areas. Indeed, in C40’s recent survey, 98% of C40 cities said that current and/or anticipated climate change presents significant risks to their city. Our member cities are already experiencing climate extremes, from the extraordinary heat waves in Rio, to the flooding in London, Dhaka and Jakarta. It is why C40 cities have been taking actions – over 8,000 in the last decade — to build climate resilience and cut greenhouse gas emissions.

The IPCC report makes it even clearer that we need a strong and positive agreement for global action on climate change at the forthcoming inter-governmental talks in Paris in 2015. And C40 will do its part, through what I call ‘city diplomacy’, to provide a way forward in helping the world address one of the most important issues of our time.

Changing Planet


Meet the Author
The C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) is a network of large and engaged cities from around the world committed to implementing meaningful and sustainable climate-related actions locally that will help address climate change globally. Recognizing that cities consume over two-thirds of the world’s energy and account for more than 70% of global CO2 emissions, our organization’s global field staff works with city governments, supported by our technical experts across a range of program areas to reduce carbon emissions and increase energy efficiency in large cities across the world. The current chair of the C40 is Rio de Janeiro Mayor Eduardo Paes, and 108th Mayor of New York City Michael R. Bloomberg is President of the Board. The Steering Committee includes: Berlin, Buenos Aires, Copenhagen, Hong Kong, Houston, Jakarta, Johannesburg, London, Los Angeles, Rio de Janeiro, Seoul and Tokyo.