Michael R. Bloomberg on C40’s 10-year Anniversary

Editor’s Note: 2015 marks C40’s 10-year anniversary. To celebrate our 10 Years of Results, we are featuring the voices of C40 principals, partners and other thought leaders throughout the year.

Michael R. Bloomberg, founder of Bloomberg Philanthropies, a C40 strategic funder, and UN Secretary General’s Special Envoy for Cities and Climate Change, congratulates C40 on 10 years of results. As President of the C40 Board, Bloomberg supports and highlights the climate action that cities are taking and the critical role that mayors can play in helping nations create ambitious carbon reduction commitments.

“Now more than ever, what happens in our cities shapes our world…Over the last decade C40 has grown from just 18 cities to more than 80 representing over 550 million people, and 1/4 of the global economy. Mayors and C40 are leading the way in tackling climate change – and they are proving that smart investments in sustainable infrastructure go hand in hand with economic growth…I’m committed to C40’s success, and I couldn’t be more optimistic about its future. Congratulations to C40 on marking its tenth anniversary.”

To see all of the posts in our anniversary series, click here

Changing Planet

Meet the Author
The C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) is a network of large and engaged cities from around the world committed to implementing meaningful and sustainable climate-related actions locally that will help address climate change globally. Recognizing that cities consume over two-thirds of the world’s energy and account for more than 70% of global CO2 emissions, our organization’s global field staff works with city governments, supported by our technical experts across a range of program areas to reduce carbon emissions and increase energy efficiency in large cities across the world. The current chair of the C40 is Rio de Janeiro Mayor Eduardo Paes, and 108th Mayor of New York City Michael R. Bloomberg is President of the Board. The Steering Committee includes: Berlin, Buenos Aires, Copenhagen, Hong Kong, Houston, Jakarta, Johannesburg, London, Los Angeles, Rio de Janeiro, Seoul and Tokyo.