Hubbard Medal

Press Releases

Meet the 2020 National Geographic Award Recipients

Today, the National Geographic Society announced its 2020 National Geographic Award recipients. The nine individuals will be honored during the virtual 2020 National Geographic Awards on Thursday, October 8.

Meave Leakey and Nainoa Thompson to Receive Hubbard Medal, National Geographic’s Highest Honor: Paleoanthropologist Lee Berger and Nepali Mountaineer Pasang Lhamu Sherpa Akita Will Also Be Recognized at 2016 National Geographic Explorer Awards

On Thursday, June 16, an extraordinary group of individuals will be honored by the National Geographic Society at the 2016 Explorer Awards, presented by Rolex. Meave Leakey and Nainoa Thompson will receive the National Geographic Society’s oldest and most prestigious honor, ...